甚麼是博雅教育

教與學的特質

博雅教育是文理兼備的教育模式,而並非只有文科課程的。博雅教育不以學科或課程分類 (但較少專業及職業導向課程),而是以獨特的教與學方式及過程劃分。博雅教育學院架構是小而精的,學生人數約為一千至一千五百人,最少有八成學生可享有宿舍生活。這樣的規模,讓教職員可給予學生更多的關顧與資源。

 

Books

博雅教育在中古時代

博雅教育源自古希臘,當時只有接受過三個學科(即文法、邏輯及修辭)及四藝(即算術、幾何、音樂及天文學)的人,方會被認定為有學養的人。只有有學養的人,才作公眾辯論,在公堂去為自己辯護或擔任陪審員,並可入伍參軍。故此,在中古時代的大學,博雅教育已是文理兼備的,而非只有文科課程。

博雅教育可通文理,全因為她講求的,是完全的思想解放,即把學生從未受教育的無知中解放出來。此等教育旨在培養全人,讓他們靈活運用不同學科的知識,融會貫通去解決難題,或許我們可統稱他們為文藝復興時期的人 – 即擁有「難以抑制的好奇心」和「狂熱創造力」的人。偉大的思想家,如阿里士多德、柏拉圖、達文西、弗朗西斯.培根,都是文藝復興時期的典範。

 

Centennial College
 

博雅教育在現今社會

今天,「博雅教育」一詞,常被解釋為「培育擁有廣博知識、可轉化技能、強大的價值觀、道德觀及公民參與的教育理念」。博雅教育就是透過培育通才,為學生開拓廣濶的視野,讓他們由多學科學習進而至跨學科學習,當然他們可以在當中選取一至兩個科目作深入研究。此教育理念,旨在培育學生成為能言善辯、通曉各家、抱持終身學習精神,並對社會有所裨益的全視野地球村居民或全人。

What is Liberal Arts

What is Liberal Arts

Liberal Arts Education is not just arts, but Arts and Sciences.  It is not defined by discipline or curriculum (except less profession and vocational-oriented) but by its distinctive teaching and learning ethos and processes. Liberal arts colleges are typically small in size, with about 1,000 to 1,500 students and at least 80% residential, so that faculty and staff can give each student more attention and provide them with more resources.

 

Books

Liberal arts in the ancient past

Liberal arts education has its origin in ancient Greece, when a person was considered educated after he had learnt the trivium (grammar, logic and rhetoric) and quadrivium (arithmetic, geometry, music and astronomy). He could then participate in public debate, defend himself and serve in court and on juries, and perform military service. So the liberal arts taught in medieval universities included not just arts, but also sciences.

The The arts or sciences were "liberal" because they were liberating, i.e. they freed their possessor from the ignorance that bound the uneducated. The aim of such an education was to nurture whole-persons who could draw on their knowledge in different subject areas to solve problems, or what we may call Renaissance persons – individuals of "unquenchable curiosity" and "feverishly inventive imagination". Great thinkers like Aristotle, Plato, Leonardo da Vinci and Francis Bacon have often been described as the archetype of the Renaissance person.

 

New book

Liberal arts in modern world

Today, the term “liberal arts” is often described as "a philosophy of education that empowers individuals with broad knowledge and transferable skills, and a stronger sense of values, ethics, and civic engagement.” It entails a general education curriculum which provides broad exposure to multiple disciplines in a cross-disciplinary context amidst or in addition to in-depth study in one or more subject areas, so as to develop well-rounded global citizens or whole-persons who are highly articulate, knowledgeable, and have the capacity to pursue lifelong learning and become valuable members of their communities.