The Planning Context

2012-2014
YEARS OF ESTABLISHMENT

alternative text

 


Centennial College was inaugurated by HKU as a self-funded, post-secondary, degree granting institution, in response to the significant changes taking place in the education sector in Hong Kong, calling for greater participation in tertiary studies. The College opened its doors to its first fee-paying undergraduate students in September 2012, offering 5 programmes: Bachelor of Arts (Honours) in Global Studies; China Studies; Language and Communication; Integrated Business; and Bachelor of Professional Accounting (Honours).

The admission of outstanding students from home and abroad is key to establishing diversity, a major strength of any academic community. Amongst the more than 600 presently enrolled students, 13 countries are represented. Our academic staff members have equally diverse backgrounds, with higher degrees from Canada, Australia, Singapore, the United States, the United Kingdom, Romania, China and Hong Kong.

In a College which concentrates on liberal arts education we have to be concerned as much about the process by which education is delivered and received, as we are about content. Central to this is the relationship between students and teachers; one which is intimate, close, understanding and caring. The College delivers much of its tuition in small groups and tutorials, and students are expected to take charge of their own learning.

Thus, as a liberal arts college, Centennial promotes innovative pedagogies, small class sizes and the importance of experiential, student-centred learning. It strives to build close relationships and collegiality between staff and students and encourages team work whilst recognising the power of the individual.

Looking forward, with a global outlook and a curriculum oriented towards flexibility and self-development, Centennial College should be well placed to play a leading role in the self-funds teritary education sector.
 

1      

 

alternative text

 

The Planning Process

As a fundamental part of our governance structure and quality assurance processes, a strategic planning discussion commenced in the Fall of 2013. The intended outcomes of this discussion were to raise awareness of the challenges facing the College, and to identify the strategic direction for the next 4 years and the actions required to address those challenges. As with any strategic planning process, a SWOT analysis (strengths, weaknesses, opportunities, threats), underpinned a review of our vision, mission, and core values, and a series of strategic imperatives, aims and priorities were developed. A wide range of our stakeholders, including the Senior Management Team, academic and support staff, and student representatives, were brought together to reflect on the future of the College. The College Council also debated issues at length. Through these discussions and dialogues, many new ideas and insights emerged, many of which have been used to define our strategic framework and suggest fundamental priorities.

 

< Back

规划背景

2012 – 2014年 – 成立阶段

alternative text

 

​​
明德学院是一所颁授学位、自资的专上学院。香港大学创立明德学院,是为了更积极参与香港的高等教育。学院在2012年9月招收第一批本科生,提供5个课程,包括:环球研究、中国研究、语言及传意、综合商业四个文学士(荣誉)课程以及专业会计(荣誉)学士课程。

在本地和海外招收优秀的学生,是我们建立多元化学术社群的重大优势。我们现时有超过600名学生,来自13个国家。我们的教师团队也有同样多元的背景,他们分别在加拿大、澳洲、新加坡、美国、英国、罗马尼亚、中国大陆和香港取得高等学位。

作为专注於博雅教育的学院,我们除了需要关心教学内容外,也特别注重教学的过程。这过程的关键是密切的师生关系。要建立这种关系,师生比例必需低。学院尽量以小组和导修形式教学,也期望学生能自主学习。

因此,作为博雅教育机构,明德学院推动创新的教学法和小班教学,并强调以学生为中心和体验式的学习。我们致力在教职员和学生之间建立紧密的关系,提倡团队合作,并鼓励他们发挥个人的力量。

展望未来,凭著全球视野,加上以灵活多变及发展自我的课程,明德学院应该可以在自资专上教育界别领导同侪。
 

1      

 

alternative text

 

规划过程

学院的策略规划於2013年秋季开展,作为管理架构和质素保证过程的一个重要部分。我们期望这个讨论可以令大家意识到学院面对的挑战,为未来四年找出策略发展的方向,以及应对这些挑战所需要的行动。在过程中,我们进行了SWOT(长处、弱点、机遇、威胁)分析,并检讨我们的愿景、使命和核心价值,制订了一系列策略措施、目标和优先项目。学院很多持份者,包括管理层、教职员和学生代表,都共同为学院的将来出谋划策。校务委员会也详细讨论各个课题。透过这些讨论和对话,产生了很多新想法和意见,其中许多已用於界定我们的策略框架,以及为需要处理的事项提出优先次序。

< 返回